Best FCPX Tutorials | Izzy Video

For more than a year now I’ve been telling people on forums, etc. about izzy video.com.

When I first starting using FCPX it was obvious that it wasn’t just a “sit-down-and-figure-it-out” program. And I’m not very good at studying thick manuals.

But some people are and we count on them to put together tutorials that show us the fundamental basics in action.

There are many out there, as you all know.

I tried all the usual ones at the time and wasn’t very happy with any of them. Some were too long and drawn out, but most seemed to have an annoying aspect of the presenter trying to sell his own “brand”. By that I mean a bit too much time spend on being an interesting personality rather than just telling you what it is you want to know.

Then someone told me to check out izzy video.

I had a feeling that FCPX was simple and intuitive, but it was obvious that there were a few principles I’d have to grasp before I could run with it. My feeling was that this should be accomplishable in one day.

It was.

Izzy had quite a series of short tutorials on the basics of FCPX. More than a dozen I think. And they were free. But more importantly, he had me up and running and having fun in the very first day.

He didn’t pile it all on.

He took it step by step.

He wasn’t long and laborious. He was concise and to-the-point, easy to follow and listen to.

Then, for a ridiculously low fee, he had an “Advanced FCPX” course, also with tons of short videos, step by step.

With all that I happily edited for more than a year.

Then came FCPX 10.1.

It took Izzy a couple of weeks, but as soon as he announced the new FCPX 10.1 basic tutorials (he’s still got the original ones on his site if you haven’t upgraded), I sat down and watched them all straight through.

Boy am I glad I did!

Because I didn’t just learn about the new cool stuff that I wanted to grasp correctly from the outset, I learned a TON of stuff I didn’t know that’s been there all along. Easy stuff. ¬†Wonderful tools and short cuts. Great advice on work flows.

Hey, maybe everyone else already knew all this (but I doubt it).

FCPX had already doubled my speed and enjoyment of the FCPX editing process right from the start. But I’m sure some of you are familiar with the nagging feeling that you’re being a lunkhead about certain things, but just don’t know another way of doing it so you just carry on being a lunkhead. (I’m not the only one, am I?)

But now Izzy has just inadvertently helped me get some of the “lunks” out of my head.

www.izzyvideo.com

And, no, this is not an affiliate announcement. I get nothing from this except the satisfaction of helping people which is the purpose of this blog.

3 Responses to “Best FCPX Tutorials | Izzy Video”

  1. Great Post! Really appreciate hot tips like this :) Thanks sooooo much ! :)

  2. Burkhard Kratzer Says:

    thx, i ll check it!! by now I am afraid of installing 10.1. Even my old FpcX crashes at least once in an hour!! but I like the editing style and speed…if it does not crash !!

    Von meinem iPhone gesendet

    • Hmmm! That shouldn’t be! Try the Digital Rebellion Pro Tools (http://www.digitalrebellion.com). I use it all the time to clear caches and junk that builds up. If your computer is up to spec and has lots of memory (I just upped mine from 12GB to 24GB), you shouldn’t have crashes. Anyway, FCPX10.1 will be a whole new download so it will be like getting a fresh install (if I recall correctly). You need to be running on Mavericks. You’ll find that it handles memory much better and that FCPX 10.1 will run much faster and smoother. So not much to lose really moving to FCPX 10.1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

